Monday, December 22, 2008

Conservatives Appointed as Senators in Canada

List of 18 appointments to the Senate by Prime Minister Stephen Harper

OTTAWA — Prime Minister Stephen Harper appointed 18 Conservatives to the Senate on Monday, where they will each receive a $130,400 annual salary to serve in the unelected upper chamber.
Newfoundland and Labrador
Fabian Manning, defeated Conservative MP.
Nova Scotia
Fred Dickson, longtime Conservative supporter and lawyer specializing in offshore resource development.
Stephen Greene, former chief of staff to Reform leader Preston Manning.
Michael L. MacDonald, Conserative supporter and businessman.
Prince Edward Island
Mike Duffy, host of CTV Newsnet's Mike Duffy Live.
New Brunswick
Percy Mockler, former provincial Conservative cabinet minister.
John Wallace, Conservative lawyer, former counsel for Irving Oil.
Patrick Brazeau, National Chief of the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples.
Suzanne Fortin-Duplessis, ex-MP under Brian Mulroney and co-chair of recent Conservative campaign in Quebec.
Leo Housakos, longtime supporter of l'Action Democratique du Quebec.
Michel Rivard, Conservative organizer, former Parti Quebecois member of the Quebec legislature, later ran for the Canadian Alliance.
Nicole Eaton, Conservative fundraiser, cultural philanthropist from family that founded iconic department store.
Irving Gerstein, chair of the Conservative Fund Canada.
Pamela Wallin, former diplomat and broadcaster.
British Columbia
Nancy Greene Raine, former Olympic skiing champion.
Yonah Martin, defeated Conservative candidate.
Richard Neufeld, energy minister in British Columbia's Liberal government.
Hector Lang, Conservative, former member of Yukon assembly.

Trump not welcome in Canada

The Council launches online petition to say Donald Trump isn't welcome to visit Canada  Sign Here